Letters Vol 36 No 2

Article 12 / 12 , Vol 36 No 2 (Summer)


Re: Federal Electoral Boundaries 2012

The federal electoral boundaries commissions for each of the ten Canadian provinces were established in 2012 with each commission consisting of three members. Each commission had to follow several rules including a population for each riding as close as reasonably possible to the electoral quota for each province, community of interest, community of identity, and historical patterns. The variance from the population equality rule was limited to plus or minus 25%, except in extraordinary circumstances.

The publication of the ten reports demonstrates that each commission developed its own provincial approach within the required rules. However, some unusual features did occur.

Continue reading “Letters Vol 36 No 2”